Discounted Uber Rides

Discounted Uber Rides for the Big Game

 

The pro football season ended for Tennessee just a couple games short of the ultimate prize. But when New England and Philadelphia square off in the big game on Sunday, Feb. 4, fans all around Tennessee will come together on this “unofficial American holiday” to enjoy the contest, the commercials and the concert — along with large quantities of food and drink.

It’s estimated that Americans consume more than a billion chicken wings on this day, and one study shows it is among the heaviest drinking days of the year. As the festivities typically last until after 9 p.m., the fatigue and the excess can be a dangerous combination. The Hamilton Law Firm wants the entire community to have fun, but also stay safe. With that in mind, we are proud to sponsor discounted Uber rides in Memphis, up to a total of $250, on Feb. 4 between the hours of 9 and 11 p.m. Each ride will be discounted $5 until the money is exhausted.

Risky on the Roads

The heightened risk on the roads after the big game is well documented. Tennessee player Delanie Walker learned this in a sadly personal manner in 2013; hours after playing for the championship with San Francisco, his aunt and uncle were struck and killed by a drunk driver near the stadium in New Orleans. Here in Tennessee, a woman in Chattanooga struck a firefighter with her car on the night of the game in 2015 after working her shift at a sports bar. She later pleaded guilty to driving under the influence.

Against that backdrop, a ridesharing company such as Uber, provides an important resource to help keep drivers off the road when they’ve had too much to drink. Founded in 2009, Uber has 40 million riders and 2 million drivers in 76 countries around the world. Riders use a smartphone app to hail a private car, which can be tracked via the app so riders and drivers know the ride’s status at all times.

Use Our Uber Codes to get Around Safely

Using an Uber could help you avoid a drunk driving conviction. DUI laws in Tennessee call for at least 48 hours in jail and a fine for a first-time offender, and penalties are progressively more serious for subsequent convictions. Refusing to take a breathalyzer results in an automatic one-year licenses suspension, since Tennessee has implied consent laws. Your fine is not the least of the financial trouble, as you’ll also could also pay higher insurance rates, court costs, bail and attorney fees.

As you can see, the consequences of driving under the influence are great. The steps to avoid these consequences are simple. Plan before the game to have a designated driver, or let The Hamilton Law Firm save you some money on an Uber. Fill out the form below to apply for a discount code. The first 50 will have a code emailed to them.


 

Discounted Uber Rides

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Posted in Blog Tagged , , , , ,

Can You Deny Police Entry to Your Home?

Do the Police have a legal right to enter?

Police entering the homes and apartments of Memphis’ residents, especially the city’s college students, has been a growing hot topic. It is not only timely, but important to prudently discuss the state of Tennessee’s laws that detail when police officers have the legal right to enter your home and also provide essential information oriented towards the rights we all have in terms of granting or denying permission to enter.

First and foremost, it’s important to mention the Fourth Amendment is the cornerstone behind the laws about governmental search, which includes homes, dwellings and vehicles. To put it rather simply, the Fourth Amendment gives all people the right to be secure in their homes and bodies against any kind of unreasonable seizures or searches, and this right can’t be violated unless law officers utilize a warrant that’s based upon probable cause. This may seem pretty straightforward in that police can’t enter your home without a warrant or probable cause. This is fundamentally true, but there are also many exceptions within the Fourth Amendment that police officers consistently utilize in order to legally establish probable cause, which everyone needs to know about.

What this article aims to do is give you a few legal tips to keep in mind when you get in a situation in which the police ask to search your home, the legal exceptions to the Fourth Amendment, tactics police officers use in these situations and what you can do to prevent unreasonable searches of your home.

‘Knock and Talk’ Investigations

The first thing that everyone needs to fully understand is the concept of a knock and talk which police officers will routinely conduct. This entails knocking on a home’s door and wanting to speak with the resident or whomever ends up being the one who answers the door. In these situations, the police may ask to gain entry into the apartment/home by getting provided consent from the person they’re speaking to. At the same time, they’ll take this opportunity to look inside and around the residence to see if there can be anything that could give them probable cause to come into your home.

You DO NOT have to give consent in these situations and can politely refuse their requests in these situations because in knock and talk investigations, the police may still be investigating to find some kind of probable cause to enter your home.

Determining the Reason They’re There 

Being polite to the police goes A VERY LONG WAY. When the police come to your door your must very respectfully ask, ‘How can I help you?’ and get an idea as to why they’ve arrived at your home.

Many times, the police will be at your door for something that has nothing to do with you. An example being, they are looking for more information about a crime that was committed in your neighborhood, or they are responding to a noise complaint. If they are there because of a noise complaint, then you should simply apologize for the inconvenience and turn down your music or stop whatever it is that’s causing the noise.

Of course, there are instances in which the police are interested in investigating you or what’s happening in your home and ask for your consent for entry. These situations are more complex, and you should contact a lawyer as soon as you can in these instances.

The following section helps you navigate your options in the moment while in these types of situations.

What You Should Know About Your Rights

This section is going to give you quite a bit of information about your rights as a citizen in the situation that the police want to search your home. It’s also important that in all of these moments you MUST REMAIN RESPECTFUL AND NOT BE AGGRESSIVE. When it comes to the law, there is no doubt that you can verbally reject a police officer’s request and ask your own questions, but as many of us know, police officers like to get their way and can even work beyond their scope of authority without proper authorization at times.

In the end, if the police simply decides to enter your home without your permission or a warrant, then you should never physically attempt to stop them. This will work out horribly in the long run and is better worked out with the help of an experienced lawyer in the court system.

With these cardinal rules of respect in mind, here are some imperative rights you need to keep in mind when the police are at your door.

A warrant is almost always needed to search your home. 

This goes back to the Fourth Amendment, and the concept of police searches being reasonable. What’s essential about this is if a police search is found to be unreasonable in court, then all of the evidence gathered during the search is deemed illegally acquired and cannot be used in any criminal case.

Consent is the big clincher and the most obvious exception to the Fourth Amendment and the necessity of a warrant to enter and search your home. The Fourth Amendment really is a reminder to law officers that they can’t burst into someone’s home without a judge’s permission, unless there is an emergency or they have probable cause to initiate a search.

Probable cause is what the police will almost always use as their legal reasoning to be able to enter your home without a warrant, and anything that an officer hears, sees or smells can be used as fair game for their judgment towards whether there is probable cause to initiate the search of a home.

Even if you have absolutely nothing to hide, you should remember there’s also nothing to gain from a search of your home. If you are in proper legal standing to deny a search request you should always do so.

Being inside your home is the best protection towards unreasonable intrusions. 

Your right to be secure in your home is protected by the Fourth Amendment, and the police do not have the right to invade this privacy without a warrant, or probable cause. When the police are at your door and want to speak with you, there are no legal ramifications for staying inside your home if you don’t commit obstruction of justice.

If you are not concerned with your privacy and don’t mind speaking face-to-face with the police, you can always open your door, but you should always close your door behind you, which we’ll discuss further in the exceptions section later pertaining to the plain view doctrine.

You don’t have to open the door when there is no warrant. 

Unless there is an emergency or the police have a warrant, you are not in the legal position to have to open the door for the police. You also aren’t required to even talk to them or answer any questions, and it’s important to understand that if a police officer is asking for your consent to search your home it’s because they don’t have enough evidence for a warrant and don’t have probable cause.

The best thing to do when police are at your door is to very calmly and respectfully not give your consent for a search unless a warrant is provided and to not answer any questions until you’ve consulted with an attorney.

You can say no to the cops. 

It’s at times a little bit scary to do so, because as we’ve said police officers tend to not like it when a citizen refuses their request, and many times a search refusal will be responded with subtle threats like, ‘You don’t want to be arrested, do you?’

In the long run, the police want your consent so they don’t have to go through the time and effort to obtain a search warrant, but that’s not your problem. Some people will act differently and let the cops do anything they want in their homes because they have nothing to hide, but by letting a police officer into your home you also have nothing to gain as well.

When can police legally search your home without a warrant?

The first thing to consider here is that if the police do not have a reasonable expectation to give you privacy and they also do not have probable cause, then they are going to require a search warrant to enter your home. But that’s not how reality works, and there are many exceptions to needing a warrant for the police to justify probable cause.

It can be just about anything, so it’s important to stay smart in terms of not providing any loopholes for the police to proclaim they have probable cause. The following are the main exceptions to the Fourth Amendment and ways in which the police can search your home without warrant.

Consent

This is the most obvious exception, and many times people simply don’t know that they have the right to refuse searches, which can lead them into unnecessary legal trouble.

There are some rules with consent that everyone needs to know, though. Some of these restrictions include the fact that a tenant of an apartment/home can give consent for the police to search the common areas of the home, but cannot give consent to search areas that are owned by other tenants. Also, a landlord cannot give the police consent to search their tenants’ private belongings, but an employer can give consent to the police for them to search an employee’s work area.

Plan View Doctrine 

Police can search a house and seize any evidence that is clearly visible, so if the police see something illegal outside of your house they can then perform a search of your home without a warrant. It’s also important to know that the cops must have probable cause to believe that what they see in or outside your home is in fact illegal.

Search in Connection to Arrest

There is no need for a warrant to conduct a search when you are arrested of a crime, so if you do get arrested for something like possession of drugs the cops can then search for any other additional drugs or illegal activity in your home or car to find any additional evidence against you.

The police also conduct what is called protective sweeps when they feel there may be dangerous accomplices hiding inside a specific location. Anything that’s located in plain view can also be seized during the sweep.

Exigent Circumstances

There are times when the police can search your home without a warrant if they feel as though the time to get a warrant would jeopardize public safety, or lead to the loss of any evidence. An example of this is that they can forcibly enter a home without a warrant if they have probable cause to believe that the destruction of the evidence was happening.

This also applies when a suspect is trying to escape them or if someone is being injured. These exigent circumstances exist so the police officer’s duty to arrest a suspect, protect someone and preserve evidence can outweigh the requirement of having a search warrant.

Knowing Your Rights… 

Now that you’ve read through the information on this page you should have a better understanding of the different options you have when the police show up at your doorstep and say they’d like to look around your home.

The truth is that you have the legal right to refuse this kind of request, but by refusing you can put yourself at risk of injury or being arrested for interfering with an investigation.

Although it’s always a pretty scary situation you now know that you aren’t required to give consent when police ask for entry to your home. The best thing to do in any situation when the police are at your door is to ask them for their identification and have them clearly explain to you why they are at your home. Their explanation for being at your home is always one of the most crucial pieces of information you’ll need, but don’t be tricked by subtle threats into giving your consent.

Remember, if they don’t have probable cause that may be why they are asking for your consent, and you never have to give up your rights for privacy, especially if you aren’t doing anything illegal.


Contact Us

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Posted in arrest, Blog, Criminal Defense, dui, Jail, Warrant Tagged , , , ,

Can you beat a breathalyzer test?

hamilton-law-firm-memphis-criminal-defense-beat-breathalyzer

Memphis Breathalyzer Tests

We live in an age remarkable for its precise scientific instruments. Astronomers tell us they can not only find planets orbiting stars dozens or even hundreds of light-years away, but even tell us what kind of atmosphere those worlds might have; electron microscopes allow medical researchers to examine the structure of a single virus or to map the human genome; some high-speed cameras can record up to a trillion frames a second, fast enough to catch light waves in slow motion.

A police officer can ask you to blow into a small device that – supposedly, at least – will measure alcohol in your blood down to a tiny amount, the proverbial “.08” threshold that can decide whether you face charges for drunk driving.

Back in the old days, before breathalyzer technology existed, police had to rely on more subjective ways to decide whether you were DUI: bloodshot eyes, open containers in the car, the smell of alcohol on your breath, slurred speech, whether you could pass field sobriety tests. These techniques were, and are, subject to simple and subjective defenses: you were tired. Your prescription medication was causing side effects. You were distracted. In the end, it’d be your word against the officer’s.

But how do you argue against a breathalyzer? It’s not like you can quibble, “But officer, that looks like a .07 to me.” No, that “.08” or higher reading just stares back at you, like there’s nothing you can do about it.

Or can you?

Although the science behind breathalyzers continues to advance, it is not yet perfect. Studies have demonstrated that under the right circumstances, these measurement devices can produce an inaccurate result. People have tried to take advantage of those circumstances, or to even create them, in a variety of ways. Some never work. Others, however, just might. Let’s take a look at some techniques to confound a breathalyzer, to see whether and how they might help you to unsettle “settled science.”

What won’t work

hamilton-law-firm-memphis-criminal-defense-beat-breathalyzer-wont-work

Before we consider the more plausible was to challenge a breathalyzer test, we’ll dispense with some myths and urban legends that only succeed in making those who try them look foolish:

  • Putting pennies in your mouth. Some people have advocated, and a handful have even tried this idea in the hope that copper from the penny will transfer to their mouths, and that this metallic trace will confuse a breathalyzer. This might succeed in leaving a bad taste, and depending on where that penny has been before you put it under your tongue it might have other undesirable effects. But will it throw off the breathalyzer? No.
  • Using mouthwash, mints chewing gum or other breath fresheners to hide the odor of alcohol or your breath (or in more extreme cases, eating your own underwear or putting your own feces in your mouth). This tactic might make it harder for a police officer to smell what you’ve had to drink, but breathalyzer technology doesn’t detect alcohol the same way that your nose does.

What might work

Although there are no “trick products” that will work to fool a breathalyzer, that does not mean that a breathalyzer’s accuracy cannot be compromised. Let’s take a look at ways with some scientific basis behind them to call into question breathalyzer results.

  • Challenging the mechanical reliability of the breathalyzer. Just like you need to periodically maintain and tune up your car to keep it running in top form, as a precision instrument a breathalyzer must be regularly checked and calibrated and records maintained of when the calibration took place and who did it. If you can show that the breathalyzer used on you was not properly calibrated, this can cast doubt on whether it gave an accurate measurement.
  • Challenging the police officer’s technical competence or legal basis to use the breathalyzer. This can take the form of calling into question the officer’s training in how to operate the device, or whether the officer lacked either the reasonable suspicion to stop your vehicle in the first place or the probable cause to believe you were DUI before having you blow into it.
  • Challenging the officer’s testimony at trial. Often by the time a police officer employs a breathalyzer on you, another officer will be present. But if only one of these officers is present to testify against you, and he or she is not the one who used the breathalyzer, then you might have an argument that you are being denied your right under the Sixth Amendment to the US Constitution to confront your accuser.
  • Introducing environmental conditions that could affect the accuracy of the breathalyzer reading. There are several ways in which the introduction of some external element, such as alcohol in your mouth, might compromise the breathalyzer result. We will go over some of these in more detail below.

How external factors can affect breathalyzer results

Lung capacity of the test subject. The breathalyzer measures alcohol that has been exchanged from your bloodstream into your breath through alveolar air the upper passages of your lungs. It is possible to argue that a person with larger lungs will have less alcohol density in this alveolar air, which might lower the breathalyzer reading for larger individuals.

Breathing patterns. Holding your breath before taking the breathalyzer test, or keeping your mouth closed for at least five minutes before, or even burping might affect the concentration of alcohol in the breath sample because of the presence of small amounts of gastric residue or undigested alcohol in the mouth can result in a reading that is higher than is actually the case.

Chemicals that interfere with the breathalyzer’s function. The penny-in-the-mouth trick may not work, but its premise – that a breathalyzer can be fooled when it picks up something “extra” in the air sample – has some merit. People have claimed false breathalyzer readings in reaction to:

  • Breathing fumes from paint thinners or lacquers.
  • Ingesting over-the-counter products that contain alcohol, such as cough syrups or other cold medications and sleep-aids.
  • Drinking some types of energy drinks, non-alcoholic beverages or carbonated drinks.
  • Eating certain foods such as ripe fruits, hot sauces, breads or dishes prepared with alcohol.
  • Skin products like after-shave, perfume or hand sanitizers.

This list is by no means exhaustive. To give you an idea of how such substances can affect a breathalyzer sample, consider a couple of examples: ketosis, and hand sanitizers.

Ketosis

Breathalyzers detect the presence of alcohol in your breath, but they are not choosy about the kind of alcohol they find. Your alcoholic beverage contains ethanol, but even if you haven’t been drinking your digestive system can produce isopropanol through a process known as “ketosis.” This can happen if you are observing a low-carb diet, have been exercising strenuously, or have diabetes: your body breaks down fat cells to product energy, producing acetone which then breaks down into isopropanol that the breathalyzer picks up.

Note that it is unlikely that ketosis alone would be enough to produce a .08 or higher blood alcohol content reading on a breathalyzer. But if you have drank enough alcohol to put you close to the legal limit, ketosis-derived isopropanol in your system might be just enough to put you past it.

Hand sanitizers

hamilton-law-firm-memphis-criminal-defense-beat-breathalyzer-hand-sanitizer

To start with, we are not talking about you swallowing hand sanitizer fluid, or even putting it on your own hands. Rather, if the person administering the breath test to you uses hand sanitizer shortly before doing so, the breathalyzer can read the ethanol in the hand sanitizer. And unlike ketosis-driven results, the hand sanitizer alone can lead to DUI-level breathalyzer readings, even as high as .15 is some cases.

How likely is it that your breathalyzer test will give a bad result?

By now you can see that although a breathalyzer is a precision measuring instrument, it is not infallible. Nor, however, is there such a thing as a “magic bullet” way to beat a breathalyzer test. Even the possibilities that have some scientific basis to them, like ketosis or hand sanitizers, may have little or no effect on your test result.

What is more, police officers and prosecutors are well aware of these possible defenses to a DUI charge, and the better ones train to minimize the risks of a false breathalyzer reading. They will wait for mouth alcohol to dissipate. They will wear gloves. They will take more than one breath sample. They will look for other ways (like field sobriety tests) to back up their decision to arrest you for drunk driving.

Something else to take away from this discussion is that what potential defenses you have against a breathalyzer test depend heavily on the specific facts of your case. Not every defense will apply to every situation. This is where your Memphis criminal defense attorney, in his or her responsibility to zealously represent your interests, must do the investigative work to find out which breathalyzer-related defenses to consider, and how to integrate them into a vigorous and comprehensive defense strategy.


Contact Us

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Posted in arrest, Blog, breathalyzer, Criminal Defense, dui, Jail Tagged , , , , ,

Tennessee Gun Laws

What are Tennessee Gun Laws?

Tennessee has some of the most lenient gun laws in the United States, but there are several wrinkles within the law that every gun owner in the state needs to know about and be prepared to encounter with local law enforcement.

Essentially the second amendment, the right to keep and bear arms, is largely upheld throughout Tennessee, but the state government has the power to regulate any person’s wearing of arms with a view in order to prevent crime.

The prevention of crime could be interpreted in many different ways and is relatively vague, especially because no one needs a permit to purchase a handgun or needs to have any of their guns registered or licensed. The only extenuating regulation in Tennessee is that you need a permit to carry a handgun, so this is naturally where law enforcement gets strict.

It’s important to understand that in general it is illegal to carry a loaded long gun in public in Tennessee, but there are several loopholes that have come up through recent laws. As of 2014, a person can keep a loaded rifle or handgun in their vehicles without a permit, and as of July 2017 someone who is protected by a protection order can carry a handgun without a license for 60 days after the protection order is issued.

Tennessee Gun Law Infographic

We created an easy to understand infographic to help you determine the laws:

Share this Map On Your Site

Main Provisions

Tennessee’s gun laws, as stated in T.C.A. 39-17-part 13, are generally lenient, but just like every other state there are several restrictions that gun enthusiasts should know about.

The arms that are illegal in Tennessee include machine guns, short-barreled shotguns, silencers and explosive weapons.

For every gun purchase in Tennessee the consumer must pay $10 in order for a background to be conducted, and another interesting provision in Tennessee is that there is no waiting period for purchases like in many other states.

Just like everywhere there are certain people who can not own guns in Tennessee, and these people include convicted felons, fugitives, those of unsound mind, minors, alcoholics, drug addicts and anyone convicted of the illegal sale of alcohol.

Off-limits Places

If you have a handgun carry permit in Tennessee there are many places in which you still are not allowed to carry a firearm including a public establishment where alcohol is served, if you’re drinking. There is a zero tolerance for alcohol use and gun carrying at a maximum of 0.0% BAC in Tennessee, so it’s legal to bring a gun to a bar but you can not drink while at the bar, or have had anything to drink anywhere for that matter.

It is also illegal to carry a firearm around school zones, any room where a judicial proceeding is taking place, some parks and more interestingly any area or building that has a posted notice prohibiting weapons as long as the prohibition sign is plainly visible to the average person entering the area or property.

Carrying

As described above, carrying firearms in Tennessee is much less regulated than in many states across the country, but there are still many regulations that all handgun owners need to know about, including the phrase with the intent to go armed.

It may be sometimes difficult to prove with such lenient laws, but state prosecutors must prove that a defendant had the intent to go armed in many unlawful carrying charges. The following are successful defenses for unlawful carrying in Tennessee:

  • If the carrying was not concealed and unloaded and the ammunition for the weapon was not within an immediate vicinity of the person or weapon
  • If the carrying was by a person who is authorized and permitted to carry handguns
  • If the carrying was a person’s residence or place of business
  • If the carrying was a part of hunting or other outdoor recreation
  • If the carrying was a rifle or shotgun being used to protect livestock from predators
  • If the carrying was conducted by any kind of judge or magistrate

Where to Legally Purchase

hamilton-law-firm-memphis-criminal-defense-tn-gun-laws-where-purchase
Although a permit is not required to buy a firearm in Tennessee there are laws requiring dealers to get licensed to be able to sell firearms and conduct the necessary background checks for each customer. Some of the more popular licensed gun stores in Tennessee include Buds Gun Shop and Range in Sevierville, The Outpost Armory in Christiana, The Tennessee Gun Country in Clarksville and the Nashville Armory in Nashville.

How to Apply for a Gun

The first thing you need to do to get a gun is to present your licensed dealer with your identification and the information of the gun you are going to purchase, and this is when the dealer will start filling out the forms for a background check.

Once the dealer completes the firearms transaction record and you sign it then the dealer will take your thumbprint for the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation to conduct the criminal history record on you. This background check costs $10.

It becomes a little more complicated to apply for a Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit, and this is a permit that requires you to fill out a Handgun Permit online, and if the applicant is permitted then the permit will last for eight years and the permittee can carry any handgun he or she owns. As like any other state the permittee must always carry their permit on them while carrying their handgun in public.

If it’s your first time applying for the eight-year permit it costs $100, or you can purchase a lifetime permit for $300 in order to avoid $50 renewal fees every eight years.

Are the Laws Working?

It’s a very sound consensus that Tennessee’s gun laws are quite lenient, and because it is so lenient there can be safe assumptions that these gun laws have lead to Tennessee being the third most dangerous state in America with 608.4 violent crimes per 100,000 people. The only two states Tennessee is behind is Alaska and Nevada, which both have significantly less people living in them.

The truth is that it’s one thing to make it easy to purchase guns in a state like Tennessee, but the recent laws that have been enacted, including the Castle Doctrine, has expanded the ability for unlicensed or non-permitted individuals to legally have handguns and other firearms in their possession in public within the privacy of their vehicles.

Of course it will always be hard for Tennessee’s prosecutor’s to prove an individual had the intent to go armed, and when gun owners have the right to carry loaded handguns and long guns in their cars without permits it’s always going to be difficult for Tennessee’s law enforcement to get guns off the streets and out of the hands of potentially violent individuals.


Contact Us

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Posted in arrest, Blog, Criminal Defense, Jail Tagged , , , ,

What to do if you have a Warrant for your arrest

What do I do if there is a Warrant out for my arrest?

Don’t panic. Many people call our office everyday with this very situation. The first thing to remember is a warrant is an allegation, not a conviction. You are presumed innocent and your charge may be dismissed in the end. My goal here is to give you some pointers to navigate the process.

A 3 Step Process

First, hire an experienced criminal defense attorney. Your attorney can discuss the case with you, and give you more specific advice about your situation. He or she will also remind you to remain silent when speaking with the police. You have a right to remain silent and have a lawyer present at all custodial interrogations. Use your rights. Your lawyer will also be able to request a bond reduction if your bond is set too high. That is why it is important to hire your lawyer before hiring a bonding company.

Second, contact a bonding company. In Memphis, there is usually no way to avoid going into custody on an arrest warrant. This is not to be confused with a bench warrant, which I discuss here. A knowledgeable bonding company can give you a rough idea of what your bond is likely to be based on your charges, your criminal history, employment history, and residential history. They will also need to know who will be paying and/or co-signing on your bond. You will want to discuss this information with the family and friends who will be making your bond.

Finally, plan how and when you will turn yourself in. Do not take expensive clothing or personal items to the jail. Remember, all of this will go into jail property, and it is often hard for you or family members to retrieve these items. Additionally, anything you take with you, such as a wallet or phone, is subject to search. I would be sure to leave these items with friends or family. I recommend that my clients take an ID, around twenty dollars in cash, and wear comfortable cheap clothing.

When should I turn myself in?

As far as the best time to “turn yourself in,” I recommend you do it as soon as possible, preferably on a Tuesday or Wednesday morning. If you go to the jail during high-traffic (nights and weekends) it will take much longer for you to process into the jail. In other words, you will be waiting for a long time. You will want to go earlier in the week so you will have your first court date before the week is out. It usually takes 48-72 hours (not including weekends or holidays) for you to have your first court appearance after entering the jail. If you have hired a lawyer, he or she can start working on your case at that first court date. If your family and friends have had trouble making your bond, your lawyer can start to address that problem at your first court date.

Contact an Experienced Memphis Criminal Defense Attorney

I hope these tips help if you or a loved one are ever charged with a crime in Memphis or Shelby county. For further information, you can check the status of Shelby county warrants. You can also to check the court date, charges, and bond amounts of a Shelby county inmate. Lastly, our office is equipped to handle criminal matters if you need an experienced criminal defense attorney.

 


Contact Us

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Posted in Criminal Defense, Jail, Warrant